The Under Appreicated Bassist

The Under Appreciated Bassist

I was watching the Grammy Award highlights last week.
The standout performance was “Get Lucky” by Daft Punk + Stevie Wonder.
The song was catchy, pop and groovy.  The backing band looked familiar.


The bassist, Nathan East is a living legend.  He has played with so many artists.
I first heard him play on Eric Clapton’s “Unplugged” or Michael Jackson’s “Bad”.
My father and I have thousands of CD’s, but I never really noticed him until I started playing the bass guitar. Currently he plays for Clapton,  Toto and Fourplay.

After checking through the credits of the CD’s we have, I noticed that he has played for:
George Harrison, Michael Buble, Rod Stewart, Mariah Carey, Whitney Houston, Kenny Loggins, Michael McDonald, Seal, B.B. King and Christopher Cross.

He has also played for: the Backstreet Boys, Beyonce and Justin Timberlake

I think that backing musicians, especially studio musicians are under appreciated.
Bassists are especially unappreciated.  Most people don’t notice the bass until it is gone.
I don’t think it’s coincidence that someone like Nathan East has played on so many popular albums.
I think his bass-lines, melody and phrasing can make or break songs.

Researching a studio musician’s credits can help you  find new music!

Vocabulary

Coincidence: 偶然
My friend from Japan knew my friend in Australia.  What a coincidence!

Familiar:  精通している
My friend is a familiar face.

Phrasing:  言葉遣い、表現法
The pianist’s phrasing was unique.

Stand out:  際立
The girl in the cat dress stood out.

Expressions

Make or Break:  成功を左右する

Under Appreciated:  重宝されてない

摂津市 吹田市 茨木市 で英会話を学ぶならコチラ!!